Aloha Concerts--Questions??

All posts with more than 3000 Hits, prior to 2008

Moderators: Moderator5, Moderator3, FECC-Moderator, Site Mechanic

Topic author
stalnaker
Registered for: 19 years 10 months

Aloha Concerts--Questions??

Post by stalnaker »

I was watching the Special Edition of the Aloha dvd last night, and I again was struck by Elvis' "style" during these shows.

It seems as if he has a sort of dreamy, sleepy, and inward look. I am sure that I am not articulating this clearly, but as Dave March says in the liner notes, he seems to be singing "to himself" and then suddenly remembers he is there with an audience. This demeanor or odd psychological disposition has always left me waiting for him to step out and explode.

I am still quite new to Elvis. Maybe others do not see this; maybe he took on differing stage presences during different parts of his concert career.

Could anyone give me some direction here?

Thanks for any input!

Liverbobs
Registered for: 20 years 5 months

Post by Liverbobs »

My own personal opinion on this is that Elvis was extremely nervous and therefore wasn't like his normal stage persona, he always suffered from stage fright but I suppose it makes it even worse when you're performing to a billion people!!
others will disagree but that is my little ol' thought on the matter!

"How Do You Expect Me To Soar Like An Eagle When I'm Surrounded By Turkeys? " .Anon.

karlos
Registered for: 19 years 3 months

ALOHA SHOWS -

Post by karlos »

having seen the dvds myself the only assumption i can come up with is -